What do you think???

24 May
  After seeing all of the celebrities in their couture at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, I am still thinking about one certain styling choice that I saw on the red carpet.   It is hard to believe that hiding within all of the silks, ruffles and diamonds were a pair of everyday gym shoes!!!  If you missed the culprit, here he is…

Cannes 2011, Cannes Film Festival, fashion, Diane Kruger, Joshua Jackson, groom, wedding

Source: Getty Images (and some editing by me)

  It was Joshua Jackson!  Now I am aware that there are higher end gym shoes out there, but are they really red carpet appropriate?  Especially if you are walking next to Diane Kruger who wore a fitted metallic Calvin Klein gown.  I am not sure if anyone will remember Joshua Jackson from the television show Dawson’s Creek, but for me his footwear said “Pacey” not red carpet.

 
  Besides the red carpet, this non traditional fashion statement is becoming more and more common at weddings.  I have worked with many brides who have told me that their fiancé has opted to wear gym shoes on the big day–the most common being Converse Chuck Taylor All Stars. 

converse chuck taylor, groom, wedding

Source: theknot

  I know how I feel about gym shoes at weddings, but I would love to know what you think!!!  Please share your thoughts and opinions.
One Response to “What do you think???”

  1. Jordan May 29, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    I love it! I am also a bridal consultant and I’ve seen it many times, and I’ll admit I am a Chuck Taylor fanatic. But I’ve seen a groom wear an ivory tuxedo, orange vest and tie with matching orange vans and it was so awesome, and so fitting of his personality. I also helped a bridal party decide on having all the guys wear dark purple converses. It makes for fun photos too!

Leave a Reply

